Situated in the southern part of the Aegean Sea, the Cyclades is one of the most spectacular phenomenon on a European level that comprise from 220 islands and islets extending over an area of 2,572 km2. Crowned as the capital of the Cyclades, Hermoupolis is the administrative center of the Cyclades. The population of the main Cyclades is 112,615 people while the majority of the smaller islets are uninhabited. The Aegean’s history is 35 million years old, since its great geomorphology was created as a result of the tectonism and the volcanic activity. This is the main reason that, weather permitting, the islands are visible from one another. According to ancient geographers, the name of the island complex refers to the circle formed around the sacred island of Delos, one of the most important archaeological and historical sites in Greece that has been recognized as an UNESCO World Heritage Site.  Set right next to Delos, Mykonos covers an area of 85,5 square kilometers and its highest point elevates on 341 meters above the sea level. Its geographical terrain is composed of granite with many rocky regions eroded from the winds. The population of the island is 12,500 who mainly reside in the settlement of Hora.

Privacy Preference Center


To measure traffic on our website.

Google Analytics
Google Analytics

Google Analytics